Hobo Stripper header image 2

Book Review: Cunt by Inga Muscio

September 27th, 2007 · 12 Comments

The other day as I was leaning out a car window screaming, “your God is a war-mongering, son-killing sadist!” at some Godly protesters (hey, they started it), I realized: I’ve gotta write about Cunt here. But how to explain Cunt?

Inga Muscio is a genius. She starts off by examining the word. Cunt. It’s meaning, it’s history, it’s current use. It’s true, sticks and stones can break your bones. And words can hurt you. Inga proposes that we reclaim cunt.

That’s just the beginning, though, and she devotes most of the book to the anatomical jewel. She talks about bloody cunts, and how we experience bloody cunts, and how people in other cultures have experienced bloody cunts and how the dominant culture influences our experience of our bloody cunts. She talks about reproductive rights, sharing the experience of her own abortions and dispensing some cunt-lovin’ birth control advice. This was where I started to really fall in love with the author. She was saying everything I thought, and weaving together the things I thought should be woven together. But I was bracing myself a little, too, because there was that tone of radical old school feminism and I was sure a negative reference to sex workers enabling the patriarchy was right around the corner. Lo and behold, I turned the page and there was a whole chapter about whores! Inga totally understands whore-dom, even though she’s never been one. I was amazed. I was in love.

Inga guides us through some anatomy (know thy cunt) and orgasmic wisdom. Then, as is so often a part of women experiencing their cunts, she discusses rape.  The prevalence of rape in our culture and how her mother’s rape has affected her own life.

The last part of this book is an explanation of What To Do With All This Knowledge. It’s very wise and true and important.

Throughout the whole thing personal experiences, book learning, and some deep searching are combined in exactly the perfect way.

If you’re a woman, you need to read this book. If your a man and you love or even like any women at all, you need to read this book. Its really important.

And did I mention Derrick Jensen wrote the intro?

Tags: reviews

12 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Curvaceous Dee // Sep 28, 2007 at 1:59 am

    Oh my. I think I need to get my hands on this book … which could be an interesting challenge, here in New Zealand. We shall see!

    xx Dee

  • 2 Curvaceous Dee // Sep 28, 2007 at 2:02 am

    I take it back – HighJinx has it in stock. Fantastic!

    xx Dee

  • 3 Laurel Ronan // Sep 28, 2007 at 5:40 am

    One of my favourite books! It does seem that we have similar tastes 😉

  • 4 whitewolf // Sep 28, 2007 at 5:59 am

    I have just ordered a copy of it through my library. I don’t if you know about Phyllis Curott but she has a wonderful book called “The Love Spell”. It’s amazing! I could read it over and over again.

  • 5 wellie // Sep 28, 2007 at 11:54 am

    guess who’s headed to borders right after work to pick it up? 🙂

  • 6 thee most exalted potentate of love // Sep 29, 2007 at 9:17 am

    hmmmmmm. . . .

    i work for an internet bookstore. . . i may have to pick that up. . . . i’m so buried under my reading list, though. . . . i guess that’s not a bad thing, though. . . .

    oh. . . and. . . yeah. . . it was lovely finding this blog. can’t wait to dig into the archives.

  • 7 HoboStripper // Sep 29, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Yay! I’m glad so many of you are going to read it. Dee, can’t you order from Amazon in NZ? The picture of the book will take you to it on Amazon.

    Laurel, we should start an eco-whores reading club. 😀

  • 8 Laurel Ronan // Sep 30, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Hey that’s not a bad idea! Have you read Real Live Nude Girl by Carol Queen? I think that you would like it. 😉

  • 9 Curvaceous Dee // Oct 2, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Hi Hobo,

    Yep, I could have ordered it through Amazon … but getting it local and supporting a small place always pleases me more! Which doesn’t stop me using the larger chains when I can’t get it any other way 🙂

    xx Dee

  • 10 i_muse // Dec 21, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    Ok, I’m sold on it thanks to your review. I was turned off to it when the a “mean girls” type of feminist community bullied me for using the word whore and told me I had no right to suggest the general definition of whore be expanded to include actresses who fuck for Oscars and waitresses who wear red lipstick and mini skirts for tips…bizarre group over there.
    anyway
    gonna read it on your recommendation now.

  • 11 Andy // Dec 3, 2008 at 6:29 am

    I’ve never met the author or read the book, although may aswell leave my opinion. It offends me. It seems to make out all men as uncaring, ignorant bafoons with nothing but bits of meat hanging between there legs. I’m sure i could write a book like that. I BELIEVE in women, i’m part of a feminist organisation. I agree males have been supressing women for a long time. Does that mean I should be hated? I don’t appreciate anti-male jokes or diggs, because not every male is one way or another. I’ve always been a great believer in equality and love women and have protected them my WHOLE life.
    This book is the thanks i get? Being called a cold hearted stupid rapist. Nice.

  • 12 Will // Feb 5, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    I agree with Andy, and I HAVE read the book. It’s rubbish. (This is coming from a guy who keeps a copy of “The Feminine Mystique” in his bathroom.) If you really take yourself seriously as rational human beings with discerning intellects, don’t listen to this muckraking, hatemongering, stereotype-slinging vandal.

Leave a Comment